Saturday, November 20, 2010

Names and Tenures of Chief Ministers of Maharashtra

This is a list of first 16 Chief Ministers of Maharashtra and the terms of Chief Ministers of Maharashtra as well as the political parties of the Chief Ministers of Maharashtra.

Yashwantrao Chavan (Congress): He was the first Chief Minister of Maharashtra (of the newly formed State of Maharashra), at the helm from May 1st 1960 – Nov. 19th, 1962.

Marotrao Kanamwar (Congress): He was the first non-Maratha Chief Minister of Maharashtra ad the only CM to have died while in office. His term was from Nov. 20th 1962 – November 24t, 1963.

Vasantrao Naik (Congress): He served 3 terms as Chief Minister of Maharashtra. The first was from December 1963 to March 1967; then from March 1967 to March 1972; and the third term from March 1972 to February 19975. Vasantrao Naik is Mahrashtra’s longest serving Chief Minister with a total of 11 years.

Shankarrao Chavan (Congress): He served 2 terms, from February 21st 1975 to April 16th 1977 and then from March 12h 1986 to June 26th 1988. S.B.Chavan was the first politician from the Marathwada region to be appointed as Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He also served as Union Home Minister.

Vasantdada Patil (Congress): He served 3 terms – April 17th 1977 to March 2nd 1978; March 7th 1978 to July 18th 1978; and Feb.2nd 1983 to June 1st 1985.

Sharad Pawar (Congress): Sharad Pawar became Maharashtra’s youngest Chief Minister in July 1978. He served 2 terms, first from July1st 1978 o Feb.17th 19800 and then from June 26th 1988 to June 25th 1991.

Abdul Rehman Antulay (Congress): A.R.Antulay was Maharashtra’s first Muslim Chief Minister. He became Chief Minister when President’s Rule was imposed in Maharashtra from February 1980 to June 1980. A. R. Antulay remained as CM from June 9th 1980 to January 12th 1982. 

Babasaheb Bhosle (Congress): A lawyer by profession, Babasaheb Bhosale was appointed as Chief Minsiter of Maharashtra by Indira Gandhi. He was CM from January 21st 1982 to February 1st 1983.

Shivajirao Nilangekar Patil (Congress): A Maratha leader, S.N.Patil had the shortest tenure as Chief Minister of Maharashtra, from June 3rd 1991 to March 6th 1986.

Sudhakarrao Naik (Congress): He served as CM from June 25th 1991 to February 22nd 1993 and had to resign for mismanagement of the Mumbai riots in 1992-93.

Manohar Joshi (Shiv Sena): He was the first Chief Minister of Maharashtra from the Shiv Sena party, at the helm from March 14th 1995 to January 31st 1999.

Narayan Rane (Shiv Sena): He was the CM rom February 1st 1999 to October 17th 1999.

Sushilkumar Shinde (Congress): Sushilkumar Shinde was Maharashtra’s first Dalit Chief Minister. He served as CM from January 18th 2003 to October 30th 2004.

Vilasrao Deshmukh (Congress): He came to power after making clear his anti-Pawar views and was CM from October 18th 1999 to December 4th 2008. Lost his seat after public outcry against his visiting the Taj Hotel premises after the terrorist attack along with filmmaker Ram Gopal Verma.

Ashok Chavan (Congress): He became CM as replacement for Vilasrao Deshmukh on December 8th 2008. He served as CM till November 9th 2010, being forced to resign after his involvement with the Adarsh Society scandal.

Prithviraj Chavan (Congress): Working in the PMO, he was selected by the Congress party to be Ashok Chavan’s replacement. Prithiviraj Chavan is the present Chief Minister of Maharashtra, appointed as CM on November 11th 2010. 

No comments:

Post a Comment