Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Nine avatars of Goddess Durga

During the festival of Navratri, Goddess Durga is worshipped over the period of 9 days in her 9 different avatars (an avatar means the manifestation/form which a God/Goddess takes on earth).

Nine Manifestations of Goddess Durga

Day 1 Avatar: The daughter of the Himalayas, known as Shailputri (shail means mountain & putri means daughter)

Day 2 Avatar: In the form of an entity who does penance known as Brahmacharini (as an unmarried young woman in her form as Parvati, the deity had done penance with a lot of devotion to win the heart of Lord Shiva)

Day 3 Avatar: The symbolic representation of bravery & beauty, known as Chandraghanta

Day 4 Avatar: The being who created the universe, known as Kushmanda

Day 5 Avatar: The head warrior of the army of Gods, known as Skand Mata

Day 6 Avatar: The One who is seated on a lion, known as Katyayani

Day 7 Avatar: The One who is fearless, known as Kalratri

Day 8 Avatar: The One who is calm, known as Maha Gauri

Day 9 Avatar: The One who comprises of all the 8 Siddhis (supernatural powers), known as Siddhidatri.

Learn the Navratri Aaarti: Navratri Aarti words in Marathi 

Know more: Significance of 9 Navratri Colours

No comments:

Post a Comment