Sunday, May 9, 2010

Ashtavinayak Temples Maharashtra

Ashtavinayakas refers to the 8 incarnations of the Hindu God Ganesha or Ganapati. Vinayaka is one of Lord Ganesha’s many names.

The Ashtavinayaka Yatra is a pilgrimage undertaken by devotees of Lord Ganesha.

The yatra has a lot of significance (read about it here). This spiritual journey involves paying obeisance to all the 8 idols of Lord Ganesha in Maharashtra, in the following sequence:

1. Mayureshwar or Moreshwar

Location: Morgaon, 64kms. From Pune

General Information: It was built by Morya Gosavi during the 14th Century. There are 8 statues of Lord Ganesha in the temple compound, each of the statues facing 8 different directions.
More information on puja timings, accommodation, etc: Visiting Ganapati Temple Moreshwar 

2. Sri Siddhi Vinayak

Location: Siddhtek, Karjat Tehsil, Ahmednagar District

General Information: This temple was built by Ahilyabai Holkar.
More information: Visiting Siddhivinayak Temple, Siddhatek

3. Ballaleshwar

Location: Pali village, Sudhagad Taluka, Raigad District

General Information: This temple is said to have been constructed in 1770 by Nana Phadnis. The unique feature of this temple is that it was built in such a way hat the sun’s rays would directly fall on the idol from the 2 equinoxes of the temple.
More information: Visiting Ballaleshwar Temple

4. Varad Vinayak

Location: Mahad, Khalapur Taluka, Raigarh District

General Information: Lord Ganesha is worshipped in the form of Varad Vinayak, the God who fulfils all wishes. It is said that the deep (lamp) which is lighted in this temple has always been lit since the 1800s!
More information: Visiting Varad Vinayak Temple

5. Chintamani

Location: Theur, Haveli Taluka, Pune District
General Information: Legend has it that it is here that Morya Gosavi attained ‘siddhi’ (divine knowledge). To honour this attainment, his son Chintamani built this temple.
More information: Visiting Chintamani Vinayaka Temple Theur 6. Girijatmaj

Location: Lenyadri, northern region of Pune District

General Information: This temple is located on a hill on the banks of the Kukdi river. You have to climb 283 steps to the Budhist cave-temple to pay obeisance to Ganesha. A local legend states that Goddess Parvati gave birth to Lord Ganesha here. ‘Girija’ is another name of Goddess Parvati, hence the name of the temple. 
More information: Visiting Girijatmaj Vinayak Temple Lenyadri

7. Vigneshwara

Location: Ozhar
General Information: This temple was built in 1833. Lord Ganesha is worshipped in the incarnation of Vigneshwara, the one who removes all obstacles. The special feature of this temple is its golden dome, said to have been gifted by Chimaji Appa, the younger sibling of Bajirao Peshwa. Don’t miss the beautiful garland of lights, known as ‘Deepmala’.
More information: Visiting Vigneshwara Temple, Ozhar

8. Mahaganapati

Location: Ranjangaon

General Information: The idol is very large in size.
-->Hence, it is referred to as Mahotkat Ganapati. The original idol with 10 trunks & 20 arms is said to be preserved in an underground cell of the temple; the one kept outside for devotees to worship is different. This shrine is visited by devotees mainly during the Bhadrapad Festival.
The Ashtavinayaka Yatra is said to be completed by first visiting all the above 8 temples in sequence and at the end re-visiting the first temple, the Mayureshwar temple at Morgaon.

Ashtavinayak Temples Locations Map: Ashtavinayak Road and Rail Routes


  1. Thank you, Vandana. May Ganesha bless you.

  2. Hi thanks for the info. Please can you let me know if this whole tour needs to be completed in two days or we can spread over three or four days